Not a complaint but just offered for comment

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by RFP, Oct 3, 2017.

1. RFP

RFP New Member

#1 RFP, Oct 3, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2017
    Hello folks. After reading as much as I can I remain as anxious as ever for my "3" although I will wait for AWD. I am just a trifle troubled that I/we are asked to put down a deposit and configure (too few choices) before we get to touch and feel one. Although my plan was to buy my 1st black car (I am 70 and have had countless cars from Ramblers to Sprites to Bimmers and Benzes,gas,diesel,hybrid,4,5,6,&8 cylinders but none have been black) I don't have a problem with the pricing but folks like Benz offer 5 or so "free" colors before you are asked to pay for premium colors. I also think (my background is in Supply Chain Mgt./Mfg.) not allowing early (400,000+) buyers the option of 2 additional interior colors and perhaps 1 or 2 other wood strips creates little of the perceived "Production Hell". Also, I plan to pay $1500 for the sport wheels, however, considering that my guess is at least 50% will opt for these, if no more cars were sold 800,000 wheels minimum would be manufactured and $375 each seems a bit much.
    Although I have one more "complaint" please know that I fully respect what Tesla is doing and no one is forcing me into this; I am not upset, just slightly troubled/disappointed. I feel stronger re my last issue; the radio or lack thereof. I do understand that AM presents a problem (although being 100% unqualified) I would think that some strategic shielding and filtering would allow one to receive local news/weather/traffic info. as there likely isn't music to any degree on AM. I am very disappointed that in all the time during this development cycle the "FM problem" couldn't be resolved by Tesla or it's contractors and sub contractors. Again, I have just posted this looking to see how others' feel. Ron

2. GrandPoobah

GrandPoobah Member