charging once you reach your destination

Discussion in 'Model S' started by B Mills, Jul 27, 2017.

1. B Mills

B Mills New Member

I am new to this, so bear with me. I have been looking for suggestions, not on how to plan a trip, but how and where to charge my S once I reach my destination. Every trip I seem to end up not near a superchager and plugging into a 110 outlet at the house, hotel, etc. doesn't do much. I need some ideas for my upcoming trip to Manhattan, KS. I will be in between superchangers at Topeka and Salina. I appreciate any and all ideas. Thanks.

2. ggendel

ggendel New Member

There are some sites that will help you plan like https://www.evtripplanner.com What makes these nice is that it will allow you to plan for round trips which the navigation on the vehicle won't (yet). They will suggest where to stop along the route to charge including superchargers and destination chargers. Keep in mind that some will be free (for example at hotels that you stay in), or require payment. Some require you to be registered users (like SemaConnect chargers). Good luck.

3. gene

gene Moderator

A shameless plug here but you could also see a list of Tesla destination charging locations through our Teslarati app.

4. B Mills

B Mills New Member

Unfortunately there are very few destination chargers in Kansas and none near Manhattan. Thanks.

5. Teslaliving

Teslaliving Moderator

Home Page:
    I just went through this myself. The Supercharger network was finally completed enough for me to get to family in the outskirts of Pitsburgh, PA. They live Northeast of Pittsburgh and there are almost zero chargers of any sort out there. A regular wall plug is VERY slow (3 mi/hour added). In our case, we were staying at a local hotel as a lot of family were in town so even the wall plug wasn't an option.